Innovation Fund Committee

The voting members of the Innovation Fund Committee (IF) consists of the Past President and Innovation Fund Director as Co-chairs, the Vice President, the Speaker of the Council, the APS Chief External Affairs Officer, and two (2) members of the Council appointed by the President-Elect to staggered, two (2) year terms. The non-voting members of the IF Committee consist of the IF Program Officer and the Chief Financial Officer.

The Innovation Fund Committee meets at least two (2) times per year to conduct project proposal reviews and monitor awarded projects underway. The Past President, as Co-chair of the Innovation Fund Committee, will bring recommendations of the Committee to the Board for approval.

The Innovation Fund Committee will:

  1. Conduct project proposal reviews in the pre- and full-proposal stages of the submission pathway, in consultation with the APS CEO.
  2. Make recommendations to the APS Board of Directors for the funding of selected project proposals.
  3. The IF Director will review annual reports from all projects awarded funds to monitor budgets and expenses, milestone achievements, and success of activities underway, and make recommendations to the IF Committee regarding continued funding.
  4. The IF Committee will make decisions on continued funding for selected projects after the initial year of funding.
  5. Report to the Board of Directors, at least annually, on the outcomes of projects undertaken.

For more information, please visit the APS Innovation Fund page.

If you have questions or concerns, you can contact the Innovation Fund staff at

Co-Chair, Past President: Frances Hellman (01/23 - 12/23)
University of California, Berkeley

Member: Gabriela Gonzalez (01/22 - 12/23)
Louisiana State University

Member: Robert McKeown (01/23 - 12/23)
Jefferson Lab/Jefferson Science Associates

Member, Vice President: John Doyle (01/23 - 12/23)
Harvard University

Co-Chair: Monica Plisch
APS Programs Director

Member: Francis Slakey
APS Chief External Affairs Officer

Non-voting member: Jane Hopkins Gould
APS Chief Finance and Operations Officer

Innovation Fund Director: Kathryn Walters-Conte
Head of Innovation

Non-voting member: Tremaine Brittian
APS Innovation Fund Program Officer

Program Coordinator: Tessa Lewis
APS Innovation Fund Program Specialist

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members

Help us make better by telling us what's important to you. Take a short survey.