Committee on the Status of Women in Physics

The membership of the Committee on the Status of Women in Physics typically consists of nine (9) persons selected by the Committee on Committees and appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three-year terms. The President-Elect appoints the Chair from among the members. This Committee addresses the production, retention, and career development of women physicists and gathers and maintains data on women in physics in support of these objectives. It may recommend and supervise studies and programs relevant to this charge. It reports annually to Council.

The Committee on the Status of Women in Physics (CSWP) was founded in 1972 to address the encouragement and career development of women physicists. The Committee consists of nine volunteer members appointed by the President of the APS. Throughout its history, CSWP has been an active sponsor of studies, programs and publications to foster women in physics. Details on current programs can be found in the Women in Physics. Annual reports on past activities are linked below.

Chair: Miriam Deutsch (01/19 - 12/20)
National Science Foundation

Member: Arati Dasgupta (01/18 - 12/20)
United States Naval Research Laboratory

Member: Maria J (01/18 - 12/20)
Utah State Univ

Member: Rana Ashkar (01/18 - 12/20)
Virginia Tech

Member: Heather Lewandowski (01/19 - 12/21)
University of Colorado, Boulder

Member: Quizi Li (01/19 - 12/21)
Exxon Mobil Corporation

Member: Hume Feldman (01/19 - 12/21)
University of Kansas

Member: Amy Graves (01/20 - 12/22)
Swarthmore College

Member: Evangeline Downie (01/20 - 12/22)
George Washington Univ

Member: Kaitlin Moore (01/20 - 12/22)
SRI International

Member: Angela Hight Walker (01/20 - 12/22)
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Nominees and award and office holders are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members