Committee on Minorities in Physics

The membership of the Committee on Minorities in Physics consists of nine (9) persons selected by the Committee on Committees and appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three-year terms. The President-Elect appoints the Chair from among the members. This Committee addresses the production, retention, and career development of minority physicists and gathers and maintains data on minorities in physics in support of these objectives. It may recommend and supervise studies and programs relevant to this charge. It reports annually to the Council.

Chair: Sowjanya Gollapinni (01/22 - 12/22)
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Member: Gabriela Gonzalez (01/20 - 12/22)
DePaul University

Member: Jami Miller (01/20 - 12/22)
US Patent & Trademark Office

Member: Helen Caines (01/21 - 12/23)
Yale University

Member: Roseanne Cheng (01/21 - 12/23)
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Member: Thomas Searles (01/21 - 12/23)
University of Illinois at Chicago

Member: Meenakshi Narain (01/22 - 12/24)
Brown University

Member: Vianney Gimenez-Pinto (01/22 - 12/24)
Lincoln University (Missouri)

Member: Pablo Laguna (01/22 - 12/24)
University of Texas at Austin

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members