George B. Pegram Award

The George B. Pegram Award, first awarded in 1971, was created by the Southeastern Section of the American Physical Society to honor “Excellence in Physics Education in the Southeast.” The Award is named for George Braxton Pegram, a native of Durham, NC and a graduate of Duke University who was for many years Chairman of the Department of Physics and Dean of the Graduate School at Columbia University. While he was Treasurer of the American Physical Society, Dr. Pegram played an important role in the formation of the Southeastern Section of the American Physical Society. The Award recognizes physics educators who have demonstrated outstanding ability in undergraduate education in at least one of the following ways: (a) by producing a number of majors who have continued in a career in physics, (b) by authoring an undergraduate physics textbook which has received national recognition for its excellent quality, (c) by having an outstanding record of service in teaching as determined by the physics faculties at his own and other institutions, or (d) by having an outstanding record of service to physics education in the Southeast.

Nomination Information

Nominations for each award should be sent to the award committee chair by August 14 in the form of a single pdf file. (If electronic submission is not possible, please send four copies of the nomination.) A complete nomination consists of a CV, a nominating letter and up to three supporting letters (a maximum of two pages each). At least one of the letters should be from an institution other than the nominee's home institution. No other supporting documents are needed, but may be included. We particularly encourage you to think of potential women and minority candidates. Nominations will be considered active for three years, though updating materials for nominees not chosen in the prior year is encouraged. Past winners are listed below. The nominator is also asked to send an email to SESAPS Chair Mark Spraker and Vice-Chair Lipin Gan of the Section informing them of the submission.

Send Materials to:
Steve Thornton
University of Virginia
Physics Department
382, McCormick Road
Charlottesville, VA 22904 USA
Members of the Pegram Award Committee:
Dr. Stephen Thornton, University of Virginia, Chair; Previous Year’s Award Winner: Dr. Lawrence Weinstein, Old Dominion University; and Dr. Catrena Lisse, Georgia College & State University



2015 Lawrence Weinstein, Old Dominion University
2014 Milind Kunchur, University of South Carolina
2013 Stephen T. Thornton, University of Virginia
2012 Mario Belloni, Davidson College
2011 Stephen Robinson, Tennessee Tech
2010 Amer Lahamer, Berea College
2009 Wolfgang Christian, Davidson College
2008 Michael Fowler, University of Virginia
2007 Robert R. Marchini, University of Memphis
2006 Robert Beichner, North Carolina State University
2005 William Brantley, Furman University
2003 John T. Foley, Mississippi State University
2002 Paul Cottle, Florida State University
2001 Lewis Bloomfield, University of Virginia
David Haase, North Carolina State University
2000 Bascom Deaver, University of Virginia
1999 Kian Dy, UNC-Chapel Hill
1998 L. D. Hendrick, Francis Marion University
E. Irl Howell, Mississippi State University
1997 Ray Hefferlin, Southern College
1996 Wendall Holladay, Vanderbilt University
1995 Joseph Ferguson, Mississippi State University
1994 Lawrence Akers, Univ. of Tennessee, Chattanooga
1993 Worth Seagondollar, North Carolina State University
1992 Marllin Simon, Auburn University
1990 Wayne Bowers, UNC-Chapel Hill
1989 Richard Patty, North Carolina State University
1988 Joseph Hamilton, Vanderbilt University
1987 Walter Connolly, Appalachian State University
1986 D. Ray Carpenter, VMI
Richard Minnix, VMI
1985 Dan Cross, King College
1984 Donald Edwards, North Carolina A&T Univ.
Peyton Rhodes, Southwestern Univ. at Memphis
Craig Whitlock, Mississippi College
1983 William Alford, Auburn University
1982 Paul Shearin, UNC-Chapel Hill
Robert Greg Hussey, Louisiana State University
1981 William Pollard, ORAU
Stanley Ballard, University of Florida
1980 Rose Mooney-Slater, University of Florida
Alvin Nielsen, Univ. of Tennessee, Knoxville
1979 Ron Edge, University of South Carolina
D. C. Swanson, University of Florida
1978 Eric Rodgers, University of Alabama
Jack Taylor, Rhodes College
1977 Ernest Jones, Vanderbilt University
Robert Lagemann, Vanderbilt University
1976 E. Scott Barr, University of Alabama
Myron McCay, Univ. of Tennessee, Chattanooga
1975 Karl Maring, Loyola University
Nelson Fuson, Fisk University
1974 Earl Pinkston, US Naval Academy
Howard Carr, Auburn University
1973 Francis Slack, Vanderbilt University
Edward Burke, Jr., King College
1972 Guy Foreman, University of South Florida
Joe Straley, UNC-Chapel Hill
1971 Fred Allison, Auburn University
Frederick Brown, University of Virginia
Lawrence McAllister, Berry College
Frank Robeson, Virginia Tech