GSOFT Early Career Award for Soft Matter Research

The deadline for the 2018 Competition is July 14, 2017

Gray Arrow Early Career Award Winners

GSOFT is a topical group of the American Physical Society (APS) that was formed in 2014 with the objective of advancing and disseminating knowledge related to the physics of soft matter (including complex fluids, biological physics, granular materials, polymers, colloids, etc.). GSOFT was created to recognize the increasing importance of the interdisciplinary field of soft matter research, which is advancing rapidly through the synergistic efforts of a broad range of scientists, mathematicians and engineers.

Goals of Award

The “GSOFT Early Career Award for Soft Matter Research” is a topical group award that aims to recognize outstanding and sustained contributions by a young researcher to the field of Soft Matter during his or her initial period of full time employment. The award provides $5000 and the cost of travel to the March meeting of the APS (March 12-16, 2018). The award is generously sponsored by Solvay.

Rules & Eligibility

Soft matter researchers with at most 12 years (as of July 15, 2017) of full time activity after their Ph.D. as of the nomination deadline, allowing for career breaks (e.g., due to child or dependent care, illness, military service, etc.), are eligible. The nomination package must explicitly state the date that the nominee obtained their Ph.D., and any career breaks. The award is open to researchers from all disciplines that contribute to the advancement of soft matter research. Ordinarily the prize will be awarded to a single individual. The research recognized could either be a single piece of work, or the sum of contributions. Should the nominee already have an APS Award or Prize then the GSOFT Award must be based on clearly described and entirely different (or at the very least substantial further) work than that recognized in the earlier Award or Prize.

Nomination & Selection Process

Complete nomination packages (including seconding letters and reprints) should be emailed as a single PDF document to the GSOFT awards committee at by midnight (Eastern Standard Time) on July 14, 2017. Confirmation of receipt of each nomination will be provided by return email. A nominator (not a member of the Selection Committee) may submit one nomination or seconding letter for the award in any given year.

Any APS member (not a member of the committee making the selection) may submit one nomination or seconding letter for each prize or award in any given year. A nomination should include:

  • A letter (of no more than three pages) from the nominator evaluating the nominee's qualifications, identifying the specific contributions to be recognized. The opening paragraph of the letter must contain an explicit statement establishing eligibility, including the specific date of the candidate’s Ph.D. Award. Candidates whose Ph.D. was awarded prior to July 15, 2005 may be eligible due to career breaks, but such breaks must be demonstrated (e.g., statement from department chair or equivalent on timing of parental leaves). There is no nomination form for the award, so this letter is considered the nomination "application".
  • A two-page biographical sketch.
  • A list of (up to 20 of) the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters. Please list the names of the letter writers in the nomination letter.

The names of each of the prize and award selection committees are available on the APS Prize and Awards website.

Nominations remain active for three years, and can be updated every year.

After a nomination has expired (three consecutive review cycles without being selected), a completely new and updated nomination package must be submitted for the nominee to continue to be considered. There is no waiting period for resubmissions.

Nominations are opened to all scientists of all nations regardless of the geographic site at which the work was done.

Questions regarding nomination submission may be sent to:

GSOFT Awards

Selection Committee Members for the 2018 Award:
Kate Stebe (chair)
Jennifer Schwarz
Karen Daniels
Jonathan Selinger
Jean-Yves Delannoy
Pedro Reis
Chris Santangelo
Nick Abbott