The Overseas Chinese Physics Association

Chien-Peng Yuan*

The Overseas Chinese Physics Association (OCPA) was founded in 1990. OCPA is a non-political, non-profit, professional organization. The chartered goals of OCPA are to promote physics research in general and also to promote recognition of achievements by ethnic Chinese physicists in particular.

OCPA members hail from all disciplines of physics, and spill over into astronomy, chemistry, electrical engineering, computer sciences and mathematics. It includes scientists from universities, government and industrial labs.

OCPA administers two awards each year. The Outstanding Young Researcher Award (OYRA) is given annually to a physicist of Chinese ethnicity working outside Asia. The Achievement in Asia Award (Robert T. Poe Prize) (AAA) is given annually to a physicist or a team of physicists of Chinese ethnicity working within Asia. The winners of these two awards, selected by panels of distinguished physicists, include many outstanding physicists in our community.
We are pleased to report that both the OCPA Outstanding Young Researcher Award and the Achievement in Asia Award (Robert T. Poe Prize) have continued to attract candidates of excellent caliber. The remarkable rapid rise to professional eminence by winners of the OCPA OYRA and AAA awards also highlights the success of the OCPA programs.

In this meeting, we shall recognize the OYRA winners for 2007 and 2008. They are

2008 Ho Bun Chan Univ. of Florida


Feng Wang

Univ. of California, Berkeley


Congjun Wu

Univ. of California, San Diego


W. Vincent Liu

Univ. of Pittsburgh

For more information see

* Chien-Peng Yuan is President of OCPA and Professor at Michigan State University

Views and opinions expressed in articles are those of the authors and are not necessarily shared by the editor or the APS/FIP. We reserve the right to withhold names of authors in order to reduce the risk of additional personal hardship, for instance for speaking out on human rights issues.