59th Annual Meeting of the APS Division of Plasma Physics
October 23 - 27, 2017 • Milwaukee, Wisconsin

APS DPP Meeting 2016

General Information

Social Activities

Companions Breakfast
Monday, October 31
Time: 8:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.
Location: Guadalupe Room (Marriott)

Plan to attend the Companions Breakfast for a presentation about the San Jose area. This is an opportunity to get acquainted with other DPP meeting companions. A representative from the San Jose Convention and Visitors Bureau will be on hand to provide information about the city and tours. Badges will be prepared for companions who attend the breakfast.

DPP Soccer Game: East vs. West
Wednesday, November 2
Time: 12:30 p.m. (after the morning session)
Location: TBA

The annual DPP soccer match will be held mid-day on Wednesday. Meet at the DPP Registration Desk after the morning session, and we will take necessary transportation to a soccer field. Bring your soccer clothes, shoes, etc. Everyone is welcome! At the field we will form teams. Typically we are back by the start of the afternoon session. If you would like to sign-up, or if you have questions, please email Andrew Zwicker (azwicker@pppl.gov). Look for soccer game information printed in the DPP Chronicle.

DPP Banquet
Wednesday, November 2
Reception: 6:30 p.m.
Dinner: 7:30 p.m.
Cost: $40
Location: San Jose Ballroom (Marriott)

The official banquet of the DPP will be held on Wednesday evening. A cash-bar reception preceding the banquet at 6:30 p.m. will be followed by the banquet at 7:30 p.m. A subsidized banquet ticket can be purchased at the time you pre-register for the meeting. Tickets for the banquet will also be sold on-site at the DPP Registration Desk on a space-available basis. Tickets must be presented for admission at the door. No tickets will be sold at the door. Banquet tickets are non-refundable after purchased.

The banquet program will include presentation of the James Clerk Maxwell Prize, the John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics, the Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics, the Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research, recognition of the 2016 Landwu-Spitzer Award, recognition of the Undergraduate/High School Student Poster Awards, and newly elected APS DPP Fellows.