DPF Mentoring Award

The Division of Particles and Fields of the American Physical Society has established a new award to honor exceptional mentoring. The award will be bestowed yearly for mentoring, broadly construed.

This APS Unit Award is intended to recognize DPF members who have had an exceptional impact as mentors of particle physics scientists and students. This mentoring could be through teaching or research or science-related activities and is meant to recognize current achievements as well as those spanning a career.

Examples of contributions honored by this award include:
  • Exceptional mentoring of early career particle physicists;
  • Sustained commitment to mentoring early career particle physicists from traditionally under-represented backgrounds;
  • A leadership role in developing early career research and career development activities.

2016 Award Committee: 

Laura Reina (Chair)
Robin Erbacher (Vice Chair)
Howard Haber
Louise Suter
Heidi Schellman (2015 Recipient)

DPF is pleased to announce that the 2016 DPF Mentoring Award has been presented to Howard Georgi, Harvard University.

“For his unique dedication to mentoring and supporting a large and diverse community of students and post doctoral fellows, whose creative theoretical endeavors have had an enormous impact on particle physics as well as the larger scientific community.”

Information about the application process for the 2017 award will be circulated soon.


2015 - Heidi Schellman
“For three decades of exceptional mentoring of students and colleagues throughout their careers, providing guidance regardless of affiliation, serving as a role model, and establishing a culture of service to others.”
Award Committee: Robert Bernstein (Chair), Laura Reina (Vice Chair), Benjamin Hooberman, Kendall Mahn, Sally Seidel