2013 Acta Materialia, Inc. Materials and Society Award

Dr. Jeffrey Wadsworth

The winner of the 2013 Acta Materialia Inc. Materials & Society Award (formerly the J. Herbert Hollomon Award) is Dr. Jeffrey Wadsworth, President and CEO of Battelle Memorial Institute since January 2009.

Battelle is the world's largest nonprofit research and development organization, executing about $6.5B of work annually and employing about 24,500 people. Formed in 1925 as a charitable trust and headquartered in Columbus, Ohio, its principal businesses today are fee-for-service contract research, laboratory operations, and commercial ventures, executing more than 5,000 projects for some 1,500 industrial and government clients throughout the world.

Jeff formerly led Battelle's Global Laboratory Operations business overseeing six major laboratories for the Department of Energy, one for the Department of Homeland Security, and one for the United Kingdom's Department of Energy and Climate Change. He also led the expansion of Battelle's operations into China, Japan, Korea, and India and the development of partnerships with the private sector in those nations.

Jeff was educated at Sheffield University in England, where he studied metallurgy, earning a bachelor's degree in 1972 and a Ph.D. in 1975. He was awarded a Doctor of Metallurgy degree in 1991 for his published work and received the highest recognition conferred by the university, an honorary Doctor of Engineering degree, in 2004. Jeff came to the United States in 1976 and has worked at Stanford University, Lockheed Missiles and Space Company, and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. In 2002, he joined Battelle and served as a member of the White House Transition Planning Office for the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. From 2003 to June 2007, Jeff was director of Oak Ridge National Laboratory, the U.S. Department of Energy's largest multipurpose science laboratory.

Jeff has authored or co-authored nearly 300 scientific papers and 1 book, and he has been granted 4 U.S. patents. His many honors and awards include five honorary doctorates, two honorary professorships from Chinese universities, and election to the rank of Fellow of ASM, TMS, and AAAS. He was elected a member of the National Academy of Engineering in 2005 and the Chinese Academy of Engineering in 2012. He has been a consulting or adjunct professor at Stanford, the University of California, the University of Tennessee, and The Ohio State University. His technical contributions are recognized internationally in the fields of superplasticity of metals and ceramics, refractory metals, high temperature materials, Damascus and other ancient steels, carbon dating of ancient steels, and for leadership in national defense and science programs.

His recent awards include ASM International's 2011 Medal for the Advancement of Research, the 2010 Navigator Award from the Potomac Institute for Policy Studies, the 2010 Friendship Award of the State Administration of Foreign Experts Affairs for contributions and dedication to China's economic construction and social development, the 2009 National Materials Advancement Award from the Federation of Materials Societies, the 2009 ASM/TMS Distinguished Lectureship in Materials & Society, and the 2009 Globe and Anchor Award from the Marine Corps Scholarship Foundation.

As a board member of Achieve, Inc. and the Business Higher Education Forum, Jeff is helping to lead national efforts to enhance science, technology, engineering and math education. He is also strengthening education and the economy in Central Ohio through his engagement with a number of local civic and community organizations. In 2010 Ohio Governor Strickland asked him to become a Member of the Board of Trustees of The Ohio State University. From 2009-2010 he was the inaugural chair of the Ohio State University Medical Center Board. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Carpenter Technology Corporation, Wyomissing, PA.

The Acta Materialia, Inc. Award in Materials and Society was established in memory of Dr. J. Herbert Hollomon and his dedication to promoting positive social consequences of science and technology that have had a major impact on society. The Award consists of a glass sculpture, an inscribed certificate, and a cash honorarium.

Dr. Wadsworth was selected as the 2013 awardee by an international panel of judges appointed by the Board of Governors of Acta Materialia, Inc. and will receive this prestigious award in March 2013 during the TMS Spring meeting in San Antonio, TX.