Murray to Serve on Oil Spill Investigative Panel

Cherry Murray web

Cherry Murray

Former APS president Cherry Murray was recently chosen to serve on the presidentially appointed National Commission tasked with preventing a major oil spill from happening again. The panel will investigate the events leading up to the BP spill and make safety and environmental protection recommendations.

Murray, who served as president of APS in 2009, is the dean of Harvard’s School of Engineering and Applied Sciences. Other members of the panel include Frances Beinecke, president of the Natural Resources Defense Council; Donald Boesch, president of the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science; Terry Garcia, executive vice president for Mission Programs for the National Geographic Society; and Frances Ulmer, chancellor of the University of Alaska, Anchorage. The commission is chaired by Bob Graham, former Florida senator; and William Reilly, head of the Environmental Protection Agency.





APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

APS Headquarters, College Park, MD
One Physics Ellipse,
College Park, MD 20740

Editor: Alan Chodos
Staff Writer: Michael Lucibella

Art Director / Special Publications Manager: Kerry G. Johnson
Design and Production:
Nancy Bennett-Karasik

APS Washington, D.C. Office
529 14th St. NW,
Washington, DC 20045
Phone: 202-662-8700
Fax: 202-662-8711

Director of Public Affairs: Michael Lubell
Associate Director of Public Affairs:
Francis Slakey
Legislative Correspondent: Brian Mosley
Office Manager:  Jeanette Russo
Press Secretary: Tawanda W. Johnson
Senior Government Relations Specialist: Jodi Lieberman
Advocacy Coordinator & Science Education Policy Specialist : Kristopher Larsen