Three American Physical Society Members Receive National Medal of Science

Three APS members were recently named recipients of the 2005 and 2006 National Medal of Science, and one APS member was awarded the 2006 National Medal of Technology.

The accolades honor the nation’s top scientists and innovators.

President Bush presented the medals during a ceremony at the White House last year.

APS members Daniel Kleppner, of MIT, and Lubert Stryer, of Stanford University, received the 2006 National Medal of Science.

Kleppner was cited for “his pioneering scientific studies of the interaction of atoms and light, including Rydberg atoms, cavity quantum electrodynamics, and quantum chaos; for developing techniques that opened the way to Bose-Einstein Condensation in a gas; and for lucid explanations of physics to non-specialists and exemplary service to the scientific community.”

Stryer was noted “for his elucidation of the biochemical basis of signal amplification in vision and pioneering the development of high density micro-arrays for genetic analysis. His influential biochemistry textbook has influenced and inspired millions of students.”

APS member Ralph A. Alpher, who died in August, was one of eight recipients of the 2005 National Medal of Science. Alpher was lauded “for his unprecedented work in the areas of nucleosynthesis, for the prediction that universe expansion leaves behind background radiation, and for providing the model for the Big Bang theory.”

In addition, APS member Herwig W. Kogelnik, of Bell Labs, was among the five recipients of the 2006 National Medal of Technology. He was cited “for his pioneering contributions and leadership in the development of the technology of lasers, optoelectronics, integrated optics and light wave communication systems that have been instrumental in driving the growth of fiber optic transmission systems for our nation’s communications infrastructure.”

The National Science Foundation administers the National Medal of Science, which was established by Congress for the White House In 1959. The National Medal of Technology was established in 1980. 

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

APS Washington, D.C. Office
529 14th St. NW,
Washington, DC 20045
Telephone: 202-662-8700
Fax: 202-662-8711

Director of Public Affairs: Michael Lubell
Associate Director of Public Affairs: Francis Slakey
Head of Government Relations: Steve Pierson
Legislative Correspondent: Brian Mosley
Office Manager:  Jeanette Russo
Press Secretary: Tawanda W. Johnson
Senior Science Policy Fellow: Donald E. Engel

College Park, MD
One Physics Ellipse,
College Park, MD 20740

Executive Editor: Alan Chodos
Staff Writer: Ernie Tretkoff
Art Director / Special Publications Manager: Kerry G. Johnson
Design and Production: Nancy Bennett-Karasik