APS News

New Awards Issue a Call for Nominations

Several new APS awards are making their debut this year, and those interested are urged to get them off to a good start by nominating worthy candidates.

First up is the Stanley Corrsin Award in Fluid Dynamics, intended as a mid-career award, for which the nomination deadline is May 31. Two new awards with deadlines of July 1 are the Landau-Spitzer Award in Plasma Physics, which will be administered jointly with the European Physical Society, and the Henry Primakoff Award for Early-Career Particle Physics, which will recognize outstanding research in elementary-particle physics performed by a physicist who has held the PhD for no more than 7 years, plus any career breaks.
Gray arrow  Stanley Corrsin Award
Gray arrow  Landau-Spitzer Award in Plasma Physics
Gray arrow  Henry Primakoff Award for Early-Career Particle Physics

 A new dissertation award in theoretical particle physics, with an October 1 deadline, will complement the Tanaka Dissertation Award for experimental particle physics.
Gray arrow  Mitsuyoshi Tanaka Dissertation Award in Experimental Particle Physics
Gray arrow  Dissertation Award in Theoretical Particle Physics

In addition, an award administered by the Committee on Education will recognize programmatic excellence in undergraduate physics education.
Gray arrow  Award for Improving Undergraduate Physics Education
Gray arrow  APS News Education Corner

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Alan Chodos