APS News

Hsu, Chudzicki are Apker Award Honorees

Christopher Chudzicki
Shelly Johnson/APS

Christopher Chudzicki

Each year APS chooses two recipients of the LeRoy Apker Award for outstanding research by an undergraduate. Usually, one of the recipients is from an institution that grants the PhD degree, and one is from an institution that does not.

The seven finalists for the Award were featured in the October APS News. They were interviewed by the selection committee in Washington on September 3.

Chia Wei Wade Hsu
Shelly Johnson/APS

Chia Wei (Wade) Hsu

The selection committee then submitted its recommendation to the APS Executive Board, which approved the two recipients at its meeting on September 25.

The 2010 recipient from a non-PhD-granting institution is Christopher Chudzicki of Williams College, who did his research, on “Parallel Entanglement Transfer on Hypercube Networks” under the supervision of Frederick W. Strauch. The recipient from a PhD-granting institution is Chia Wei (Wade) Hsu of Wesleyan University, whose research on “Self-Assembly of DNA-linked Nanoparticles” was done under the supervision of Francis W. Starr.

Chudzicki and Hsu are now pursuing their graduate studies at opposite ends of Massachusetts Avenue in Cambridge, Massachusetts, Hsu at Harvard and Chudzicki at MIT.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Alan Chodos