APS News

March Meeting Prize and Award Recipients

A prize or award presented by the American Physical Society is one of the highest honors a physicist can receive. It is a symbol of the admiration of a physicist’s peers and demonstrates that the recipient’s accomplishments and contributions to physics are judged exceptional.

The 2008 APS Prize and Award Recipients who were presented with their awards at the March Meeting are pictured below.

March recipientsPat Garin

Front row (L to R): Jun Akimitsu, Robert C. Haddon, Karin Rabe, Arthur F. Hebard, Julia M. Phillips, Mildred Dresselhaus, Zeev V. Vardeny, Joseph Orenstein, Steven Block,  Bryce R. Gadway. Back row (L to R): David P. Landau, H. Eugene Stanley, Mitchell Feigenbaum, Kenneth S. Schweizer, Gary S. Grest, Tin-Lun Ho, Gordon Baym, Christopher Pethick, Kari Dalnoki-Veress, Bjorn Wannberg.

Gray arrow  Biographical information about each prize winner. Format - PDF  

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Alan Chodos
Contributing Editor: Jennifer Ouellette
Staff Writer: Ernie Tretkoff