APS News

Seven Apker Finalists Meet in Washington

APS Apker Award 2007 recipients
Photo by Shelly Johnston
The APS Apker Award is given annually for outstanding research by an undergraduate. Finalists are chosen in two categories: from institutions that award PhD degrees, and from institutions not awarding the PhD. The finalists meet with the selection committee for a day of interviews, which this year took place on September 16 in downtown Washington. The committee then recommends recipients in each of the two categories to the APS Executive Board. Shown in the picture are the seven finalists. Left to right: Stephen Poprocki (the College of Wooster); Scott Bender (Santa Clara University); Matthew Becker (University of Michigan); Silviu Pufu (Princeton University); Jeffrey Thompson (Yale University); Vernon Chaplin (Swarthmore College); and Bryce Gadway (Colgate University). The recipients of the Apker Award will be featured in the December APS News.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Alan Chodos
Contributing Editor: Jennifer Ouellette
Staff Writer: Ernie Tretkoff