APS News

New APS Education Award Calls for Nominations

The APS Excellence in Physics Education Award, approved by Council in November 2003, has achieved its fundraising goal of $100,000 and will be awarded for the first time next year. The selection process is underway, and a call for nominations has been issued. The deadline for nominations for the first award is July 1, 2006.

The award, which consists of $5000 and a certificate citing the achievements of the recipients, is distinctive in that it is intended to recognize groups, rather than individuals. Its defining characteristics are set forth in the language that was adopted by Council:

The Excellence in Physics Education Award will recognize and honor a team or group of individuals (such as a collaboration), or exceptionally a single individual, who have exhibited a sustained commitment to excellence in physics education. Such a commitment may be evidenced by, but not restricted to, such accomplishments as:

  • outreach programs
  • a specific program or project that has had a major ongoing influence on physics education at the national level — outstanding teacher enhancement or teacher preparation programs over a number of years
  • long-lasting professional service related to physics education that has had a demonstrated positive impact.

Nominations should be submitted to the chair of the selection committee, Wolfgang Christian, at the following address:

PO Box 6926
Davidson College
Davidson NC 28035-6926
email: wochristian@davidson.edu

The fundraising effort was topped off by a gift from the Richard Lounsbery Foundation. Other major donors included Vernier Software, WebAssign, and Physics Academic Software. In addition, there were 19 contributions of over $1000, and 85 contributions up to $1000 in support of the Award. Further information may be obtained on the APS web site at http://units.aps.org/units/fed/award.cfm.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Alan Chodos
Associate Editor: Jennifer Ouellette
Staff Writer: Ernie Tretkoff