APS News

World's Top Science Students Gather for 2000 ISEF

Some of the nation's top high school physics students were included in this year's prize recipients at the annual Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF), part of Intel's multimillion dollar Innovation in Education initiative to help realize the possibilities of science and technology in education. Founded 51 years ago, ISEF is coordinated by Science Service, a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the understanding and appreciation of science among people of all ages through publications and educational programs. In conjunction with the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT), the APS contributed to the more than $2 million in scholarships and prizes that were awarded.

Jason Douglas, 18, from Cincinnati, OH, was one of three students to win top honors: a $40,000 Intel Young Scientist Scholarship. Young was recognized for a physics project in which he developed a theory to mathematically explain the energy in atoms, entitled "Discrete Electron Density Theory Finite Tensor Solutions to Schr"dinger's Equation." Douglas was also one of five students to receive a high-performance mobile computer for Best Use of a Personal Computer Award.

Garrett Young of Branchburg, NJ, was one of two students to receive the Glenn T. Seaborg Nobel Prize Visit Award for his project entitled, "Isolating Plasma Species Initiating Internal Electrostatic Fields for Plasma Heating," in which he devised a method to efficiently increase the temperature of plasma for potential fusion energy applications. Along with his co-recipient, Young will travel to the Nobel prize ceremony in Stockholm, Sweden, this December.

In the "Best Of Category" awards, Michael Hasper of Tallahassee, FL, was honored in physics for his project entitled, "Violin Bridge: Will the Stradivarius Legend Continue?"

Each year the Intel ISEF brings together more than 1000 students from all 50 states and 40 nations to compete for scholarships, tuition grants, internships, scientific fields trips, and prizes. The APS sponsored prizes at ISEF for the first time in 1998. In addition to monetary awards, all winners received a one-year AAPT membership and one-year APS student membership, and a certificate from both societies.

For a complete list of the awards presented at the 2000 Intel ISEF, along with photographs, please see http://www.intel.com/education/isef.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Alan Chodos
Associate Editor: Jennifer Ouellette