APS News

Distinguished Traveling Lecturer Program in Laser Science

The Division of Laser Science (DLS) of the American Physical Society announces the continuance of its sponsorship of a lecture program in Laser Science, and invites applications from host schools for the next round of awards. Lecturers will visit selected academic institutions for two days, during which time they will give a public lecture open to the entire academic community and meet informally with students and faculty. They may also give guest lectures in classes related to Laser Science. The purpose of the program is to bring distinguished scientists to predominantly undergraduate colleges and universities in order to convey the excitement of Laser Science to undergraduate students.

Lecturers for the 1997-1998 Academic Year:

  • Geraldine Richmond, Univ. of Oregon, Dept. of Chemistry. Surface Non-Linear Optics.
  • Jagdeep Shah, AT&T Bell Laboratories. Quantum Optics, including semiconductors.
  • Philip Bucksbaum, Dept. of Physics, Univ. of Michigan. High-Field Laser Physics.
  • Carlos Stroud, The Institute of Optics, University of Rochester. Wave packets.
  • Lee W. Casperson, Department of Electrical Engineering, Portland State University. Lasers and Optical Systems.
  • Wolfgang Ketterle, Dept. of Physics, MIT. Atom cooling and trapping.

DLS will be responsible for the travel expenses and honorarium of the lecturer. The host institution will be responsible for the local expenses of the lecturer and for advertising the public lecture. Recommendations to the DLS chair for host institutions will be made by the Selection Committee after consulting with the lecturers. Priority will be given to those institutions that are not located in major metropolitan centers and do not have extensive resources for similar programs. Applications should be submitted by members of DLS. 

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Barrett H. Ripin