APS News

Four Corners Section Established by Council

The Four Corners Section, the first new APS regional section since 1976 was established by unanimous vote of APS Council at its April 19 Meeting, subject to ratification of its bylaws by the APS Constitution and Bylaws Committee. The Four Corners Section encompasses Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, and Utah. There are over 300 charter members to date. APS members living in the Four Corners area are encouraged to join the new section by writing it in on their APS invoice returns. Note that Section memberships are free to APS members.

Interim Four Corners Section Officers, elected by an organizational group meeting in Albuquerque on March 22nd, are: Chair, Bill Evenson (BYU), Chair-elect, J.D. Garcia (U. Of Arizona), Vice-chair, David Wolfe (UNM), Secretary-Treasurer, Eric Jones (Sandia), plus members-at-large of the Executive Committee: Brenda Dingus (U. Of Utah), Mariet Hofstee (Colorado Sch. Of Mines), Andrea Palounek (LANL), Michael Petras (Motorola-Tempe). Harry Lustig, APS Treasurer emeritus and now living in Santa Fe, played a leading role in the new section's formation.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Barrett H. Ripin