Edward A. Bouchet Award

Goal reached!


Donate Online

Gray arrow  APS Members
Gray arrow  Non-Members


Gray arrow  Letter of Intent

By Check

Gray arrow  Mailing Info

Thank You to Our Donors

Gifts of $10,000 or more
  • Alfred P. Sloan Foundation*
  • Fisk-Vanderbilt Masters-to-PhD Bridge Program
  • Harvard Physics & Applied Physics
  • In Honor of Robert Karplus
        Beverly Karplus Hartline and Fred
        Jason Hartline
        Margaret Hellweg and Horst
        Barbara Karplus and Rodney Womer
        Elizabeth Karplus
        Catherine and David Karplus
        Paul and Karen Karplus
        Peter Karplus
        Richard Karplus
  • Kathlee A. Maloy & Heather L. Burns
  • LIGO Laboratory
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Research Corporation (previous sponsor)
  • Yale University
  • Diola Bagayoko
  • B. Alex Brown
  • R. Sekhar Chivukula
  • Sylvester James Gates
  • Larry Gladney
  • Gabriela Gonzalez
  • Laura H. Greene
  • Gaston Gutierrez
  • Wendell Talbot Hill III
  • Theodore Hodapp
  • Jefferson Science Associates
  • Daniel Larson
  • Eric Lin
  • Donald N. Langenberg
  • Ramon Lopez
  • Juan Maldacena
  • Stephen Craig McGuire
  • Cherry Ann Murray
  • Jorge Pullin
  • Helen & Dan Quinn
  • Susan Joyce Seestrom
  • Elizabeth Simmons
  • Stephen Steadman
  • Donna Stokes
  • Sergio Ulloa
  • University of Pennsylvania, Department of Physics & Astronomy
  • Herman White
* Provided temporary annual support during campaign

Mailing Info

Checks payable to American Physical Society

Darlene Logan
American Physical Society
Attn: Bouchet Award
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD 20740

Each year, the APS bestows the Edward A. Bouchet Award upon an African American, Hispanic American or Native American physicist who has made remarkable contributions to physics. Edward Bouchet graduated as valedictorian of the Hopkins Grammar School class of 1870, and in 1874, became the first African American to receive a Ph.D. at an American University (Yale), and it happened to be in physics.

The Bouchet Award was originally supported by the Research Corporation, a private foundation for the advancement of science and technology. When their funding ended, it was temporarily sponsored by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation and is now fully endowed through the generosity of APS donors. Every two years, COM and the APS Awards Committee form a special selection committee to choose a Bouchet Award winner.