Prize for Industrial Applications of Physics

Awarded to an individual, or individuals, for applications of physics in an industrial setting. The purpose of the prize is to recognize excellence in the industrial application of physics, and thereby to publicize the value of physics in industry, to encourage physics research in industry, and to enhance students' awareness of and interest in the role of physics in commercial product development.

The Prize consists of $10,000 and a certificate citing the contribution for which the Prize was awarded. In addition, an allowance is made for the expenses incurred by the recipient(s) to attend the APS meeting at which the Prize is presented. The APS Prize will be presented in odd-numbered years, with the first Prize awarded in 2009. This prize is supported by a grant from the General Motors Corporation.

Establishment & Support

The APS and AIP award the prize in alternate years. The initial Prize for Industrial Applications of Physics (IAP) was established in 1977 by the American Institute of Physics (AIP). The APS Prize was established in 2007 with support from the General Motors Corporation.

Rules & Eligibility

The Prize will be awarded for innovative, leading-edge applications of physics to emerging technologies. It is not necessary for the application to have already achieved commercial success, but it should have demonstrated potential for significant impact. Although nominees need not now be working in industry, the contribution for which they are cited must have been made while their principal employment was in industry. The recognized contribution may be a product, a process, or a tool enabling practical application of physics. Nominees need not be APS members, and there is no restriction with regard to geography or nationality.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Friday, July 1, 2016

Nomination deadline to be determined.

In order to encourage a broad spectrum of nominations, and in particular nominations from smaller companies as well as larger ones, self-nominations are encouraged.

Nomination materials should include biographical information, relevant lists of publications and patents, and up to three letters of support. The committee will then recommend one of the nominees to the APS Executive Board, and the recipient of the Prize will be announced after the Board has approved the recommendation, which usually occurs in late September or early October. The Prize will be presented the following spring at an appropriate APS meeting (usually the March meeting). Nominations will remain active through three prize cycles.

The online nominations system will open toward the end of 2016. Watch for email and website announcements that the site is open to accept new nominations and update material for continuing nominations.

2017 Selection Committee Members: Mike Gordon (Chair), Barbara Jones, John Rumble, Bob Doering (present winner)

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

2017 Recipient

Asad Khan
Kent Displays

Asad Khan

Past Recipients

2015: Supratik Guha
2013: John Woollam
2011: Billy Ward
          Nicholas P. Economou
2009: Philip J. Wyatt