Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award

To provide recognition to exceptional young scientists who have performed original thesis work of outstanding scientific quality and achievement in the area of plasma physics. The award consists of $2,000 and a certificate to be presented during the award ceremony at the banquet for the Division of Plasma Physics Annual Meeting and a travel allowance to the meeting of up to $500.

Establishment & Support

This award was established in 1985 (originally as the Simon Ramo Award and formerly as the Outstanding Doctoral Thesis in Plasma Physics Award) and endowed in 1997 by General Atomics Inc.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations will be accepted for any doctoral student of a college or university in the United States or for a United States student abroad who has successfully passed his/her final thesis defense within the preceding 24 months of the current nomination deadline. The work to be considered must have been performed as part of the requirements for a doctoral degree. Nomination packages should include a copy of the candidate's thesis. Each nominee will be considered for two consecutive cycles. Updated letters of support may be submitted for the second cycle.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, April 3, 2017

The nomination package should include:

(1) your letter of not more than 1,000 words evaluating the nominee's qualifications for the award. This letter is considered the nomination "application".
(2) at least two, but no more than four, seconding letters.
(3) the nominee's thesis.

The online nominations system will open toward the end of 2016. Watch for email and website announcements that the site is open to accept new nominations and update material for continuing nominations.

2016 Selection Committee Members: Andrea Garofalo (Chair), Columbia University/General Atomics; Debra Callahan, (Vice Chair), Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory; Felix Parra Diaz, University of Oxford; David Go, Notre Dame University; Cary Forest (2015 Recipient Advisor), University of Wisconsin

Nomination Guidelines

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women and members of underrepresented minority groups are especially encouraged.