Nicholas Metropolis Award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Work in Computational Physics

The purpose of the award is to recognize doctoral thesis research of outstanding quality and achievement in computational physics and to encourage effective written and oral presentation of research results. The award consists of $2,500, a certificate to be presented at an awards ceremony (usually convened at the APS March Meeting), an additional allowance of up to $1,500 to travel to the meeting, and a registration waiver to attend the presentation meeting. The recipient will be invited to present his or her work in an appropriate session of the meeting. The award will be presented annually.

Establishment & Support

The award is supported by the Division of Computational Physics.

Rules & Eligibility

The Division of Computational Physics is pleased to announce its annual competition for the Nicholas Metropolis Award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Work in Computational Physics. The deadline for nominations is June 30th. Nominations will be accepted for any doctoral student (present or past) in any country for work performed as part of the requirements for a doctoral degree. Nominees must have pass their thesis defense not more than 18 months before the nomination deadline. An individual can be nominated only once; however, an unsuccessful candidate will be carried over for one year.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Friday, June 30, 2017

The nomination package should include:  


  1. APS Prizes and Awards Nomination Form (available via the online application interface)
  2. Recommendation letter from nominator (generally the thesis advisor)
  3. The thesis manuscript in PDF format
  4. A thesis summary accessible to a computational scientist without specific expertise in the field of the thesis. The summary should also certify the eligibility of the student and delineate in detail the contributions of the nominee, making comparisons with others.
  5. Two additional letters of support, at least one from outside the nominee’s institution
  6. Nominee’s CV

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2018 Selection Committee Members: Michelle Johannes (Chair), Duncan Brow, Aurora Clark, Angel Garcia, Shi Liu

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.