Richard L. Greene Dissertation Award in Experimental Condensed Matter or Materials Physics

To recognize doctoral thesis research of exceptional quality and importance in experimental condensed matter or experimental materials physics. The award, to be given annually, will consist of $2500, a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient, and an allowance of up to $1500 for travel to attend and give an invited talk at the annual APS March meeting at which the award will be presented.

Establishment & Support

The award was established in 2013 to honor the scientific and administrative contributions of Richard L. Greene to experimental condensed matter and materials physics. The Richard L. Greene Award is supported by a gift from his family.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations will be accepted for doctoral dissertations written in English and submitted to any college or university, worldwide. Nominees must have submitted their dissertations after January 1, two years prior to the award. Nominations may be considered for up to two consecutive review cycles.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Friday, September 1, 2017

Nominations must be submitted to the Award Selection Committee prior to the deadline for the nominations. The deadline for nominations is September 1st of the year preceding the March Meeting where the award will be made. Nominations of qualified women and members of underrepresented minority groups are especially encouraged. This award will be based on the dissertation itself and not the subsequent work. The nomination packet consists of the following materials:

  • A PDF of the Ph.D. thesis written in English
  • A letter from the thesis advisor explaining the rationale for the nomination
  • Two letters of support with at least one being from another institution
  • Contact information for the nominee

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2018 Selection Committee:Bill Halperin (chair) J. W. Allen, Michael Flatté, Michelle Johannes

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

2018 Recipients

Claire Donnelly
ETH Zurich - Paul Scherrer Institute

M. A. Mueed
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Past Recipients

2017: Deep Jariwala
          Liang Wu
2016: Alexander Steppke
          Susanne Baumann
2015: Matthew D. Reed
          Moureen C. Kemei