Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Astrophysics

To recognize doctoral thesis in research in Astrophysics, and to encourage effective written and oral presentation of research results. The award, to be given annually, consists of $1,000 and a certificate citing the contribution made by the recipient. Finalists will receive travel reimbursement up to $750 in order to present their work in an invited session at the APS April Meeting.

Establishment & Support

The award was established in 2013 by the Division of Astrophysics (DAP). For the first three years, the award will be sponsored by the DAP. This began with the 2015 award, which was announced at the 2015 April Meeting.

Rules & Eligibility

Doctoral students at any university in the United States or abroad who have passed their thesis defense for the Ph.D. any time during the two calendar years prior to the year of the APS April Meeting where the award is made (for example, for the 2016 award, anyone who defended in 2014 or 2015 is eligible), and whose thesis topic is appropriate for DAP (i.e. dealing with topics that are typically presented in DAP sponsored or co-sponsored sessions at the APS April Meeting), and who are members of the DAP are eligible for the award. A student may be a finalist in the competition only once. Nominations and selection of finalists will be made during the nomination submission year, after the deadline; the selection and announcement of the winner will be made at the following APS April Meeting.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Thursday, November 30, 2017

The deadline for nominations is November 30 of the year preceding the April Meeting where the award will be made. The nomination process is initiated by the thesis advisor and the nominator must be a DAP member.

The nomination packet consists of the following materials:

  • A CV, including a list of publications.
  • A letter from the thesis advisor citing the specific contributions of the nominee and the significance of those contributions.
  • At most two letters seconding the nomination.
  • A letter from the department chair certifying the date of the thesis defense. If this letter goes beyond verifying the defense date it must be counted as one of the two seconding letters.
  • A manuscript prepared by the nominee describing the thesis research; the manuscript may not exceed 1,500 words (excluding references) and a maximum of 6 figures.
  • An abstract prepared by the nominee suitable for publication in the APS April Meeting Bulletin.
  • An email address.

The name of the thesis supervisor and the institution should be indicated in a footnote. The finalists will be chosen by the Thesis Award Selection Committee based on the quality of the thesis research and the written presentation. Selection Committee members who have mentored or otherwise co-authored with any candidate will recuse themselves from selection of finalists or awardees as appropriate. The three finalists will present their work at a special Thesis Award Session of the April Meeting. After consideration of the oral presentation, the Selection Committee will choose the recipient of the award. The winner will be announced at the DAP business meeting. Nominees who are not selected as finalists may submit abstracts for regular oral or poster presentation at the meeting.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2017 Selection Committee: Keivan Stassun (Chair); Dan Kasen; Grzegorz Madejski; Tracy Slatyer

2017 Finalists: 

Carlos Arguelles, University of Wisconsin - Madison, "New Physics with Atmospheric and Astrophysical Neutrinos"

Morgan MacLeod, University of California at Santa Cruz, "Social Stars: Modeling the Interactive Lives of Stars in Dense Clusters and Binary Systems in the Era of Time Domain Astronomy"

Anna Patej, Harvard University, "Distributions of Gas and Galaxies from Galaxy Clusters to Larger Scales" 

Garrett Somers, Ohio State University, "Exploring Non-Standard Stellar Physics with Lithium Depletion" 

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

2017 Recipient

Garrett Somers
Vanderbilt University

Garrett Somers

Past Recipients

2016: Wen-fai Fong
2015: Anne Archibald