Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award in Fluid Dynamics

This award recognizes exceptional young scientists who have performed original doctoral thesis work of outstanding scientific quality and achievement in the area of fluid dynamics. The annual award consists of $1,000, a certificate citing the accomplishments of the recipient, and an allowance for registration and travel up to attend the annual meeting of the Division of Fluid Dynamics at which the award will be presented.

Establishment & Support

The award was established in 1998 to honor the many outstanding contributions to fluid mechanics of Dr. Andreas Acrivos, particularly his years of distinguished editorship of Physics of Fluids. It is supported by donations from members and friends of the Division of Fluid Dynamics.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations will be accepted for any doctoral student studying at a college or university in the United States or in a education abroad program of a college or university in the United States. The work to be considered must have been accomplished as part of the requirements for a doctoral degree. Nominees must have completed their dissertations during the previous calendar year, or by March 31 of the year of the award, at a university within the United States. A dissertation is "complete" when formally submitted to the nominee's graduate school. Each nominee can be considered in not more than two consecutive cycles.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What is the definition of "completed their dissertation during the previous calendar year"?

A: It means that the Ph.D. dissertation was submitted for final approval in the previous calendar year (or by March 31st of the calendar year of the nomination).

Q: What does "each nominee will be considered in not more than two cycles" mean?

A: It means that if the candidate was nominated for the Acrivos Dissertation Award in one year, then the candidate may be re-nominated in the following year only. A new nomination package must be resubmitted to the Committee; candidates are not automatically carried over to the next year. The nomination letter should clearly state that the candidate was nominated the previous year.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Tuesday, May 1, 2018

The nomination package should include:

  1.  Full copy of the nominees Ph.D. thesis.
  2. A thesis summary of maximum five pages (including figures) prepared by the nominee.
  3. A complete curriculum vitae of the nominee.
  4. A scanned signed nomination letter from the thesis advisor. This letter should describe (a) the specific research contributions of the nominee, and (b) the role of the nominee in writing any parts of the thesis that have been published or submitted for publication (please identify these parts of the thesis).
  5. At least two letters, but not more than three, seconding the nomination. At least one letter must be from a person who is not from the nominee's PhD granting institution.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.


2017 Selection Committee Members: Satish Kumar (Chair), Mark Stremler (Vice Chair), Antonio Ferrante, Dennice Gayme, Carlos Hidrovo, Robert Martinuzzi, Nicholas Ouellette, Mingjun Wei

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women and members of underrepresented minority groups are especially encouraged.