Joseph F. Keithley Award For Advances in Measurement Science

To recognize physicists who have been instrumental in the development of measurement techniques or equipment that have impact on the physics community by providing better measurements. The prize consists of $5,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. It is presented annually.

Establishment & Support

This award is endowed by Keithley Instruments, Inc. and the Topical Group on Instrument and Measurement Science (GIMS). The award honors Joseph F. Keithley for his outstanding contributions and numerous accomplishments in area of sensitive and precision instrument development and measurement techniques.

Rules & Eligibility

This Award will be made annually to one or a few individuals working in the same area for outstanding advances in measurement science or products that impact the physics community by providing better measurements. Nominations are active for 3 years.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Friday, June 30, 2017

The nomination must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2018 Selection Committee Members: TBD

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

2017 Recipient

Peter Denes
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Peter Denes

Past Recipients

2016: Albert Migliori
2015: Daniel T. Pierce
          John Unguris
          Robert J. Celotta
2014: Franz J. Giessibl
2013: David McClelland
          Nergis Mavalvala
          Roman Schnabel
2012: Andreas Mandelis
2011: Ian Walmsley
2010: Eugene Ivanov
2009: Robert Schoelkopf
2008: Bjorn Wannberg
2007: Kent D. Irwin
2006: Frances Hellman
2005: E. Dwight Adams
2004: Virgil Bruce Elings
2003: Arthur Ashkin
2002: Robert J. Soulen, Jr.
2001: James E. Faller
2000: Calvin Forrest Quate
          H. Kumar Wickramasinghe
1999: Simon Foner
1998: John Clarke