2015 Chairs Conference

June 5 - 7, 2015
The American Center for Physics
College Park, Maryland

The American Physical Society and the American Association of Physics Teachers are pleased to jointly organize the 2015 Physics Department Chairs Conference. This conference is part of a series of conferences that are now organized annually.

This conference is held in conjunction with a Congressional Visit Day (CVD). The APS Office of Public Affairs (OPA) facilitates communication between physicists and Congress through CVDs. The APS OPA will assist CVD participants with setting up a meeting with their representative or senator and will provide supporting material on scientific issues of concern.

The chairs conference is designed by chairs for chairs. The program will address topics of significant concern to chairs, including strategies for increasing physics majors, managing faculty effectively, tying the curriculum to physics careers, and promoting diversity and inclusion, among others. In addition there will be a number of opportunities for networking and discussion, including receptions and breakout sessions by type of institution.

Registration for this event is closed. Participants must register online and pay the $350 registration fee. This fee includes all meals, events, and transportation during the conference.

Steering Committee
Kay Kinoshita, Cincinnati
Pablo Laguna, Georgia Tech
Steve McCauley, Cal Poly Pomona
Brad Orr, Michigan
Beth Parks, Colgate
Quinton Williams, Howard

Staff Liaisons
Bob Hilborn, AAPT
Monica Plisch, APS

Hotel Reservations
The College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center is offering a special group rate of $119 per night.


Friday, June 5, 2015 (College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center)
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Congressional Visit Day 
  • Tyler Glembo (APS)
3:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Workshop for New Chairs
  • Kay Kinoshita (Cincinnati)
  • Steve McCauley (Cal Poly Pomona)
  • Quinton Williams (Howard)
5:15 - 6:00 p.m.
Town hall meeting with NSF program officers
  • Denise Caldwell
  • Mary Galvin-Donoghue
6:00 - 7:00 p.m. Welcome  Reception
7:00 - 8:30 p.m. Dinner and Keynote:
Reimagining Physics Departments as Trends in Higher Education Break the Mold for Past Designs

  • Neal Abraham (Five Colleges)
Saturday, June 6 (American Center for Physics)
8:00 a.m. Bus departs hotel for ACP (board bus alongside hotel near parking garage entrance)
8:30 - 10:00 a.m. Panel on Building Thriving Undergraduate Programs
10:00 - 10:30 a.m. Break
10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Workshop on Managing Faculty/Difficult Conversations
  • Talat Rahman (Central Florida)
12:00 - 1:00 p.m. Lunch
1:00 - 2:00 p.m. Breakout/Workshop I
2:15 - 3:15 p.m. Breakout/Workshop II
3:15 - 3:45 p.m. Break
3:45 - 5:15 p.m. Fostering Diversity in Physics Programs
5:15 - 6:00 p.m. Reception
6:00 - 7:00 p.m. Dinner
7:00 p.m. Bus departs ACP for hotel
Sunday, June 7 (College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center)
8:00 - 9:30 a.m.
Preparing Students for Careers
9:30 - 10:00 a.m. Break
10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Reforming Introductory Physics
11:30 a.m. Adjourn