2013 Department Chairs Conference

May 30 - 31, 2013
The American Center for Physics
College Park, Maryland

The American Physical Society and the American Association of Physics Teachers are pleased to jointly organize the 2013 Physics Department Chairs Conference. This conference is part of a series of conferences that have been organized biennially for the past three decades.  Conferences are now organized annually.

Gray Arrow Register by April 30

The conference is held jointly with the Distance Education and Online Learning in Physics workshop being held June 1-2, 2013.
Gray Arrow More on the workshop

Steering Committeedept-chairs
pictured, from left to right
Willie Rockward, Morehouse
Bob Hilborn, AAPT
Talat Rahman, Central Florida
Monica Plisch, APS
Chuhee Kwon, CSU Long Beach
Steve Whisnant, James Madison
Rafael Muller, Puerto Rico-Humacao
Ed Bertschinger, MIT

Gray Arrow Hotel Reservations
Gray Arrow MSI Travel Support Application


Gray Arrow  Photos from the Conference

Thursday - May 30, 2013
Hilton Garden Inn

12:30-4:15 p.m.
Workshop for HBCU Chairs - Arlene Modeste Knowles (APS), Willie Rockward (Morehouse) and Quinton Williams (Jackson State)
2:30-4:15 p.m.
Workshop for New Chairsformat_pdf - Ed Bertschinger (MIT)
4:30-5:45 p.m.
Town Hall Meeting with NSF Program Officers - Sean Jones (NSF-DMR), Duncan McBride (NSF-DUE), Ann Orel (NSF-PHY)
6:00-6:15 p.m.
Welcome - Kate Kirby (APS) and Beth Cunningham (AAPT)
6:15-7:15 p.m. Reception
7:15-8:00 p.m. Dinner
8:00-9:00 p.m. Keynoteformat_pdf - Ann Austin (Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning)

Friday - May 31, 2013
American Center for Physics

7:00-7:45 a.m. Breakfast at the Hilton Garden Inn (conference hotel)
8:00 a.m. Shuttle bus departs for the American Center for Physics
8:30-10:30 a.m. Plenary - Rethinking the Physics Major: Curriculum, Goals, Assessment
8:30 - Standards-based Grading with Voiceformat_pdf - Andy Rundquist (Hamline)
9:00 - A Research-Validated Approach to Transforming Upper-Division Physicsformat_pdf - Steve Pollock (Colorado-Boulder)
9:30 - An Example of a Multi-Track Physics Curriculumformat_pdf - Steve Whisnant (James Madison)
10:00 - Discussion
10:30-11:00 a.m. Break
11:00-12:30 p.m. Plenary - Trends in Graduate Education
11:00 - Graduate Education in Physics Conference: Sustaining thriving programs by embracing challenges and opportunities in the 21st centuryformat_pdf - Chandralekha Singh (Pittsburgh)
11:30 - APS Bridge Program: Effective Interventions to Improve Participation by Underrepresented Studentsformat_pdf - Ted Hodapp (APS)
12:00 - Discussion
12:30-1:30 p.m. Lunch
1:30-2:25 p.m.
Breakout I
2:30-3:30 p.m.
Breakout II
3:30-4:00 p.m.
4:00-5:30 p.m.
Plenary - Department Climate
4:00 - CSWP Climate Site Visit Programformat_pdf - Susan Blessing (Florida State)
4:30 - Ethics and the Welfare of the Physics Professionformat_pdf - Kate Kirby (APS)
5:00 - Discussion
5:30-6:15 p.m. Reception
6:15-7:15 p.m. Dinner
7:15-8:10 p.m.
Closing Plenary - Overcoming Negative Stereotypes: Applying Theory to Practice - Catherine Good (Baruch)
8:10-8:15 p.m.
8:30 p.m.
Shuttle bus departs for the Hilton Garden Inn