Presentations from 2010 Conference

Broadening Physics Career Paths: Industry, Education & Policy

June 11 - 13, 2010
The American Center for Physics
College Park, Maryland

The American Physical Society and the American Association of Physics Teachers were pleased to jointly organize the 2010 Physics Department Chairs Conference. This conference is part of a series of conferences that have been organized biennially for the past three decades.  The theme for the 2010 Chairs Conference was:  Broadening Physics Career Paths:  Industry, Education & Policy.


The conference began on Friday evening, June 11 at the conference hotel with a reception and dinner, followed by a guest speaker. The remaining sessions took place at the American Center for Physics and ended on noon, Sunday, June 13.
Gray arrow   Conference Program Schedule Format - PDF  

Friday:  Reception & Dinner

  • Keynote Speaker: Steven Koonin
    Under Secretary for Science, US Department of Energy

Session I: Report from AIP Corporate Associates Summit III
Chair: Dan Gauthier, Duke University

Session II: Industry/Academia Connections that Work
Chair: Quinton Williams, Jackson State University

Session III: Breakout Discussions
Some topics are the same in Breakout Sessions I and II but the discussions were different.

Breakout Sessions I Breakout Sessions II

Session IV: Physics Education as a Career
Chair: Ritchie Patterson, Cornell University

Session V: Physics Policy as a Career
Chair: Kate Kirby, APS

Session VI: Introductory Studies in Life Sciences
Chair: Warren Hein, AAPT