Physics Policy Committee

The Physics Policy Committee (PPC) consists of a Chair appointed by the President-Elect to a renewable one (1) year term, twelve (12) members, appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three (3) year terms, the President-Elect, the Congressional Fellows(s) in the first year following the year of service, and the Chair of POPA. The PPC addresses those science policy issues that affect the development of physics, the health of the institutions in which physics is practiced, the resources available to physics, and the balanced use of these resources for the nation's scientific and technological needs. PPC shall make recommendations to the President, the Board, and the Council on these science policy issues. Recommendations from the PPC on public statements shall be considered by the POPA Steering Committee and then transmitted to Council as appropriate. The PPC shall keep minutes and distribute them to PPC members and the Council and Board.

Chair: Samuel H Aronson (01/16 - 12/16)
Brookhaven Natl Lab

Member: E William Colglazier Jr (01/15 - 12/17)

Member: Linda Young (01/16 - 12/18)
Argonne Natl Lab

Member: Gerald C Blazey (01/15 - 12/17)
Northern Illinois Univ

Member: Carlos Andres Meriles (01/15 - 12/17)
City College of CUNY

Member: Charles M Mountain (01/14 - 12/16)
Assoc of Univ of Rsch in Astro

Member: Mark T Bernius (01/14 - 12/16)

Member: Robert J Birgeneau (01/16 - 12/18)
Univ of California - Berkeley

Member: James William Bray (01/16 - 12/18)
General Electric Corp

Member: Laura H Greene (01/16 - 12/18)
Florida State Univ

Member: Eric David Isaacs (01/14 - 12/16)
Univ of Chicago

Member: Berndt Mueller (01/16 - 12/18)
Brookhaven Natl Lab

Member: Ritchie Patterson (01/15 - 12/17)
Cornell Univ

Member: A J Stewart Smith (01/14 - 12/16)
Princeton Univ

Member: Michael S Witherell (01/14 - 12/16)
Univ of California - Santa Barbara

Member, Chair of POPA: Julia M Phillips (01/16 - 12/16)
Sandia Natl Labs

Member, Congressional Fellow: Reba M Bandyopadhyay (01/16 - 12/16)
Univ of Florida - Gainesville

APS Staff

Staff Advisor
Mark Elsesser (